KayCee’s Obituary

Well, this blog isn’t exactly conventional. I had a weird project in my class and I thought I should share it with you guys. This week, my professor asked the class to write an obituary. That sounds ok, nothing weird or doomsday about it. Well, here is the catch; “Write an obituary about yourself.” Yup, that was the assignment of the week. Funny enough, I think I was a little too excited to work on this project (And no I have no death wish). I live in fantasy land a lot so i figured this wouldn’t be too bad. I decide when I die and how I die, Not too bad at all. Anyway, enough of me rumbling, here is my obituary, written by me 🙂 I hope you enjoy reading this, it’s not so dark, promise.

KayCee’s Obituary

Kasapo F. Chibwe, also known as KayCee, transitioned her life to Christ on Thursday afternoon January 12, 2070. She died of natural causes in her sleep.

She was born to the late Whiteson and Godfrida Chibwe, September 8, 1988, in Lusaka Zambia. Kasapo graduated from Mary Queen of Peace Girls School in 2005 and went on to pursue a BA in Mass Communication from the University of Zambia in 2007 and graduated in 2011.

She then migrated to the U.S where she joined her mother and young brother in Chicago and proceeded to get a Masters’ degree in Health Communication at DePaul University. Her goal was to work in the field of Health Promotion in developing countries specializing in children’s health.

After graduating, she joined the United States Agency for International Development (USAID) in Washington D.C where she worked for three years before being promoted to the position of Communications Liason to Zambia where she relocated.

Kasapo was hardworking and always went out of her way to do the best she could in everything she touched, whether at work or in her personal life. She was a great friend, mother, sibling and wife. Her biggest dream was to help under privileged children and make a lasting difference in their lives. She was passionate about making a difference in the lives of children and dedicated her free time doing just that.

In doing so, she founded the Love a Child Foundation to help children who were orphaned, abused and abandoned. She ensured that each child that came to her was well taken care of and educated. She took it upon herself to make sure the children felt loved and had a safe place to live. She treated each child like her very own and ensured they had every opportunity to succeed in life despite the low blow life had dealt them which led them to her.

KayCee was a Christian and an active member of her church, Lusaka Community Church and spent her Sundays teaching Sunday school. She helped form the children’s choir and encouraged them to learn how to play different instruments as well as be productive children.

She was loved by many and always found time out of her busy schedule to hang out with friends and family. She was dubbed the fixer of the family and held the same nick name among her friends because she was always trying to help people and fix situations, even when her help was not solicited.

Kasapo is survived by husband James Banda and four children, not counting her Foundation children, whom she loved like her own. She is also survived by ten grandchildren and three great-grandchildren.

In lieu of flowers, the family is requesting that donations be made out to Love a Child Foundation (She was not a fan of flowers and ensured her husband never got her flowers on any special occasions). Suffice it to say, she will not appreciate flowers in death either.

The funeral is currently held at her home in Ibex Hill and the Burial will be held at Noon, Saturday at Leopards Hill Cemetery.

Image

About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

