Letter to future me

Image

From 25 yr old you…

So, today the 25th of October 2013, I was working on an assignment that required me to construct a family tree. If you know me, you will know that I come from a BIG family. And my definition of family has always been my grandparents, their kids and kids’ kids and so on and so forth and my siblings. So, when the task of drawing a family tree came up, I was excited to do it. Till I took pen to paper, and I needed more paper. See, my mom has/had 12 siblings. That’s a LOT of kids.

And pretty much all of them kids of their own who also had kids and it keeps going. I got lost half way through my assignment. That’s how huge my family is. But I will try again tomorrow, on bigger paper. The beauty about it is we ALL know each other, the in laws and in laws in laws. We all pretty much get along and have get togethers to check up on each other and all once in a while.

The reason for this letter is that today, you decided you only want to have one child. Big shocker considering how much you love kids and how you always gushed about having at least six kids. But for some reason, all that has changed now. It has become clear that you can only handle one kid, one pregnancy. And that will be a huge favor to the unsuspecting person that marries your crazy ass.

Everyone knows you pregnant is going to be one heck of a curious movie and all your friends can’t wait to see you pregnant. Of course it is because you are such a charming person and everyone can’t get enough of you ( hahahaha you wish! It is because of your so called picky eating and generally your curious ways).

Naturally, everyone is curious to see how your persona will play out during pregnancy. Anyway, because of your love for kids, you have decided you are open to adoption and it is something you hope your partner will be open to. And the one kid. I really don’t think you will be able to handle more than one pregnancy in your life time. I pray to God you are wrong, but then again, I pray to God you can at least pop out one baby.

Oh yeah, your mom was hoping you could replicate her family and have 13 kids! AS IF!! And have all 13 kids, naturally, that is, pop them all out yourself. That is definitely NOT happening. God knows 13 pregnancies is a wee bit too much for you. So yeah, I just figured I should tell you about this decision to have one kid. And you are cool with it, actually relishing the idea. Maybe by the time you read this letter you will have had a change of heart but I really am doubting it unless your partner makes a REALLY REALLY good case, which I don’t see happening,

By the way, you are currently single and everyone around you thinks you will be that friend, aunt, sister that forever remains single, claims a couch every night in one of their homes and spoils their kids rotten. And is also the spiteful, cynical man hater. I doubt you will turn out that way, but hey, who knows.

Worse comes to the worst, you can just hook up with your best friend Al, who just might end up single in the future with his current track record (I totally hope he doesn’t. He HAS to find someone so you can spoil his kids rotten. And it will be too weird if you guys hooked up).

So anyway, all I really wanted to tell you is that you decided on one kid today and hopefully you will be on the same page with your partner and God. You never know.

Bye and good luck with that.

(P.S: The little man above is my nephew. He currently holds the key to my heart 🙂 ).

About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

