You are on a DATING site???!!!

Image

You are ONLINE DATING??!! That is the response I usually get when people I know in real life find out I am online dating. It really isn’t such a big deal. You wouldn’t think that though from their tones and expressions. You might think I just revealed a conspiracy to kill the president, by their reactions. It is so funny though after you get over the initial hype.

So, yes, I recently joined a dating site. If you know me, you will know that that’s the kind of crazy I get into (and everyone that knows me still expresses shock at this, I don’t get it either. Maybe they don’t know me that well). Now, you might be wondering why I would feel the need to join a dating site.

I’ve asked myself the same question and all I can come up with, and the most honest answer is; “I am bored and I have too much time on my hands.” I am currently in school full time pursuing an M.A and certification course at the same time (mind you, its two different schools). But I am not working, so the time I am not in school, I am home. I had an internship but quit when I couldn’t keep going without pay. Worked there for over 8 months, it was time to move on.

Anyway, I digressed. Back to the topic at hand; joining a dating site. It is fun especially when you are single like me and have no social life and are living in a foreign country. And when most of your friends, if not all of them are located oceans away, you tend to be a loner, compounded with a personality like mine, it’s a no-brainer that the internet is your new best friend.

So dating sites and what I have come to learn about them;

1). People have horrible grammar and that bothers me WAY more than it really should. It is one of the most annoying things about me. And misspelling is the worst. And this is especially annoying when it is a simple word e.g. how spelled haw. Like really? Was it so hard to spell it with an o?

2). Exaggeration of how successful you are. You can tell this person is lying through their teeth (in this case through their keyboard) just by the way they try to flaunt their so called success. It is okay to just be honest and really state where you are in life. No one will look down on you for it. At least I hope they don’t.

3). Making your life more glamorous than it is. Dude, if your life was half as glamorous as you claim it is, what the heck are you doing here? If you are this well-traveled, social person, you have higher chances meeting someone on your social outings than on here. This place is mainly for people like me, who are socially awkward and cannot strike and hold a conversation with a stranger. And barely leave the house.

4). People are weird. Some will come at you telling you about their sexual fantasies and how they would be honored if you could do them this one favor. I like these people. Not for the reasons you are thinking! I like them because they are honest. They will not give you some bullshit about how they are so hardworking and successful and will treat you like a goddess (no, I don’t ever want to be worshiped! What is it with y’all and worshiping women? The world has enough problems already without having someone worship me).

5). And then we have the “I am the best person you will ever date” type. I will treat you like royalty, blah, blah, blah. If you are the best, why are you still single? What happened to the last person you dated? People need to learn to chill.

6). My personal favorites are the off the charts, bat shit crazy kind (excuse my language please). This is because they are real. They will not jerk around about who they are. They give it to you up straight and you do with it what you may. These are my kindred spirits.

I guess what I am saying is just be true to yourself. If you are going to put yourself out there like that, the least you can do is be honest. What happens if you stumble on THE ONE and your profile is full of lies and you can’t live up to your hype? You lose out on a good thing just because of one lie you told. And yes, it is possible to meet your soul mate online.

And the reason I am still on the one website, (I had multiple sites but I couldn’t keep up so I closed all but one) is because I am enjoying myself. It is so much fun. Plus I am real about who I am, and when I am hiding behind a keyboard, my shyness instantly disappears. There is something about the power of written words that just gives me the confidence I may lack when you first meet me. And of course, it all goes away after I am familiar with you and you start wondering what happened to the timid, shy person you first met? 

About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

