Being present

Sitting in the basement office, I got a text message from one of the ladies at church, checking on the progress with a few agencies she referred my name to. And she also promised to forward my profile to other agencies and I was really grateful. I told her, “thank you so much for your help. May God continue blessing you.” And she replied, “you are welcome my dear. I will help in any way possible”.

And I sat and thought to myself, why is she being so nice to me? Do I deserve any one being this nice to me? Sometimes I fail to comprehend why people are so nice. But today, it dawned on me; I serve a living God, a wonderful God who will not let me fail. Yes, I fail him at every turn and I am not perfect but still he looks upon me with favor and mercy.

Without Him, his mercy and his grace, I wonder where I would be. I know from past experience that it is not a good place I would be in. it might even be as an alcoholic and drug addict though I have never used drugs. But I feel that my life may have taken on this dimension if not for the people He has surrounded me with.

And so, instead of wondering why she is being so nice or whether I deserve people to be nice to me, I will simply say thank you and also try to be as nice and do something for people. It is always a great feeling to get help when you least expect it and nothing is required of you in return. It is an even better feeling when you help people with no expectations of receiving from them. And this has been reinforced by her kind actions towards me.

And without her knowing it, she is slowly becoming a role model for me because she is there when I need her. She doesn’t push, silently protecting me and availing herself when I need someone to talk to.

I too have chosen the path of being there for someone, not judging, but just being there to listen, to laugh, to cry and just be present. Sometimes, all we need is someone to be present, not doing anything but just there.

K.C

###

About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

