#BlackLivesMatter

My post is a little too late because it has been stewing in my drafts folder for whatever reason. I haven’t been posting consistently since I started this blog. I will share why I haven’t in another post. It is already written, just haven’t posted it yet. Anyway, I divert. back to the matter at hand.

#BlackLivesMatter

This hash tag caught my attention and sparked a conversation in my head about black lives and their importance. I read different opinions on this hash tag. What struck me most though was this, “To whom should #BlacLivesMatter?” And my response was to everyone. And I took this a step further by adding that #BlackLivesMatter should be spread to black people.

It is with deep sadness that I comment on the Michael Brown case. It is so sad that more and more young lives are lost to the hand of the cops. This is not a society I look forward to raising my kids in. It is clear that cops feel like they have the license to dispense justice as they see fit. They are playing by a different set of rules altogether. No matter how much you want to leave the racial aspect out of this case and others, the underlying theme is white cop killing a black boy/man. And in this case and others, the victim (deceased) was not carrying any weapon.

Regardless of this racial aspect, I think we should look at this from another aspect. In lieu of Michael Brown’s killer going free, the trendy hash tag #BlackLivesMatter sprung to life and was all over social media. And I wholeheartedly agree that black lives do matter. But what we should be advocating for as well is that black lives matter to black people. I know I will get backlash for this but it seems like we ourselves do not value our lives. Pretty much every day, you hear of gang shootings and guess what? Its black people killing black people. Lets for one moment take the cops out of the equation. There seems to be this hate going on among young people especially those involved in gangs. And all they do is kill each other. If we can stop this attitude of killing each other and instead look out for one another, there would be fewer killings of black lives.

And hopefully, once we achieve this peace among ourselves, it translates to how cops handle incidents involving black people. If you are peaceful and carry yourselves as a peaceful people, how you are treated by others also changes. But if you treat yourselves like animals, killing each other like its nothing, how much more someone on the outside looking in? All they see is a bunch of violent people killing each other like there is an award for it. If you cannot respect and honor your fellow black life, what more someone that is different from you?

I am not saying I agree with the killings and the verdicts on the cops. I hoped the cops in these instances would be found guilty and punished to teach their fellow cops that they should not handle such incidents in that manner but instead we see them going scot free and others following suit knowing nothing will be done to them. Shooting someone once especially one that is not carrying a weapon should be effective enough but shooting him six times? That is just pure malice there. You are no longer shooting to protect yourself but instead are shooting with malicious intent.

There is a lack of respect towards the very lives that the cops are commissioned to serve and protect. What we are witnessing is cops killing people, shedding blood all over the place. People have no faith in the justice system whose sole purpose is to protect and provide justice. Losing an innocent life to the hands of a trigger happy cop and then having the cop go scot free is not justice. I do not see any service in such an incident. If your job is to serve and protect, many more lives would be saved. There are of course instances that require the use of deadly force but the Michael Brown instance is not one of them. And there are several others I can mention but will not. I pray and hope that one day we will live in a society that values each and every life. And this will start with you and I valuing our lives first.

(Image courtesy of google.com)

###

K.C

About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

