She up and QUIT

quit

With immediate effect

Annoying coworker number two just quit. No notice, no hint, nothing. She just walked in late this morning and announced she was done. She proceeded to write her resignation letter and walked out. Just like that. Boss is out of town and next in line only comes in when she isn’t working out in the field. So that leaves me. I was served with the resignation letter.

Now, in an ideal world, this would make me happy because I wouldn’t have to deal with her anymore. It makes me sad instead because now Obnoxious Gas Chatterbox (coworker number one – IRTFYB helped me come up with the name Obnoxious Gas and I am testing it out sooner than I thought I would have to) has only me to vent to, me to regale with her unwanted tales. *Sigh*

I will now hear about the dates, failed relationships, and everything else that goes on in her world that I would rather not know about. Don’t get me wrong, I do like Obnoxious Gas Chatterbox. She is a nice sweet lady. She is caring, strong and smart. My only problem with her is that she fails to realize that I am not much of a social person and I really do not like to be involved in other people’s lives, especially when you are over 50 because I cannot be friends with you like that. I can be friends from a distance, yes. But not listen to everything you go through type of friend. Not at work. I refuse to do that. It becomes messy because you perceive me to be MEAN when I want to work and not chat, when I have to enforce the rules because it is my job and you see me as your daughter/friend.

Coworker number two dealt with that aspect of your life when I “ignored” you. With her gone, I am left to try and thwart your attempts at storytelling but giving you no alternative thus my initiative being useless. Alas, until I hire a replacement for coworker number two, I will have to cringe through your stories.

*Deep Sigh* I wish I was the chatty kind and then this wouldn’t be so hard. But then again I take that back. I like me just fine as I am. Antisocial is kind of my thing and I love it. *Deeper Sigh* to the drawing board it is. New employees, yes I am looking forward to that (dripping with acid). I am still thriving for now. I just do not know how long I will continue to thrive with Obnoxious Gas Chatterbox on my case. And even as I type, she remembered a story she thought she has not shared with me yet, but she has, and is right now telling it to me. The fact that I am concentrating on my screen does not deter her. In fact, it just makes her tell me more stories! I really have no idea how it is that some people really cannot take a hint. How is that even possible!? On the bright side, it is Friday and I thank God we do not work weekends. I get a little reprieve. Small blessings. Happy Friday Y’all

###

K.C

About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in relationships, work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

