Yes or No

Sometimes, I am scared to ask a question because I know I will get more than I bargained for. I will get an earful that is unnecessary and ridiculously long. Where a simple yes or no will suffice, I will have at least three to five sentences of explanation.

Look people, it’s not rocket science. It really isn’t.

There are people who like to talk, who love to talk and then there is me. I don’t like to talk. Not like that anyway. I have my moments.

When I am trying to get work done, I like to seat quietly at my desk with music blaring out ma speakers and work away. That is not an invitation to chat. It is an invitation for you to leave me alone.

But no. Not my coworker. She doesn’t know when to talk and when to bask in the silence. She hates silence. She cannot stand being quiet with her thoughts. She will talk all day if given the chance.

I merely asked if *Mr. Jake called the office today. A simple yes or no would suffice. I got more than I asked for.

“No he did not call. The only phone that rung is the blue one. When the big phone rang, it was quiet and I thought it was *Bernard because there was heavy breathing on the other side and then silence. You know how when Mr. Jake calls, there is always noise in the background, like people screaming? Yeah, there was no noise this time just heavy breathing. And I did what you told me last time, I didn’t hang up immediately, I waited but there was just silence.”

Phew! A simple yes or no is really all I needed to hear. I do not understand why I had to get that whole explanation.

I am weird, yes, I get it. I prefer short sentences in interpersonal communications depending on whom I am talking to and what type of setting it is. I--m-Weird-And-I-Enjoy-It

If I do not really know you, chances are my responses will be limited to yes or no unless I am required to provide more information. That’s just who I am. And I like it that way. It keeps me sane.

What makes me insane on the other hand is when I am enjoying a song, singing along and you feel that this is the perfect moment to have a discussion on said song.

But why would you ruin my moment like that? Can I just enjoy this one song that I absolutely love and must absolutely sing along to?

Apparently not.

*Sigh*

Lord I pray for patience. As others have tolerated me, allow me to tolerate others. Amen.

Silver lining; Its Friday

*Jake and Bernard are not real names 🙂

###

K.C

About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yes or No

  1. CupCake says:

    This sounds very familiar…praying for patience…singing along to a song, I turn those into discussions all the time. I don’t call my self weird, just a bit CRAZEE but small doses of craziness is okay right?

  2. I tend to elaborate on my answers LOL. Which is perhaps why I am able to dig deeply in my posts. =) To each his own.

    • KayCee says:

      I understand when people have to elaborate their answers but some instances really do only call for a yes or no. I am sure you agree with me, yes? LOL
      I follow your blog and I must say I love it! No abuse of words there 🙂
      K.C

      • HA ha ha ha ha. No, no abuse of words over there because I will abuse anyone who abuses words there. Ok, I’ll stop messing with you. And YES! “some instances really do only call for a yes or no.” !!! LOL

Leave a Reply

