Tennis Elbow (Say What Now!?)

This morning started out with excruciating pain shooting from my right elbow and radiating down to my palm ensuring pain when I tried to hold anything, phone included.

This was not the first time I woke up to a painful right hand, unable to hold anything without agonizing pain. First time was Sunday when I woke up to get ready for church and I was unable to pick up my phone with my right hand to turn off the alarm. I was confused. I tried making a fist and the pain that resulted from that action had me screaming. So I stopped trying to stretch or form a fist and went back to sleep. Church was out of the question at this point.

Woke up a little later and had my mom rub it with some icy hot and stretched it out. By 4 PM I was back to normal and it was like I never had any pain. Mom even questioned the legitimacy of my claims earlier; I gave her the side eye šŸ‘€ (I was crying when she was rubbing and stretching my hand earlier and she now thinks I was lying. Hmmmmmm).

Anyway, Sunday passed and all was well. Only glitch was me feeling crappy on Tuesday and then felt the pain start back up on Wednesday when I tried to carry my lunch bag with my right hand. I refrained from using it to carry anything and proceeded with the day.

But not today. I woke up with as much pain as I did Sunday morning if not more. This entailed a trip to the emergency room where I anticipated my usual one hour waiting to be examined and another three hours before being discharged. I was lucky today. As soon as I registered I was triaged and shortly after taken to a room and none of the usual waiting around before the nurse attended to me. She was in as soon as I was settled.

And shortly after the Doc was here. This has never happened before. I always get in some reading time and some irritated waiting time. But not on this trip. We chatted for a bit about my pain and tried to make sense out of it. After some prodding of the elbow in question, he told me I had tennis elbow. Nope, I do not play tennis. Last time I was on a tennis court was when I was in high school, at least nine years ago and I left the tennis court with a black eye. Apparently someone thought it would be funny to aim the ball at my face when I wasn’t even playing that set. Anyway, I digress.

Tennis elbow he said. “Take Ibuprofen and ice it and you should be okay in the next few days. If it worsens, come back and we will do an X-ray. But as for now, I will save you the money and time.”

Cool I thought. Came this whole way to be told to take ibuprofen and ice my hand. I’m happy though. It could have been worse. Now we don’t know what caused the inflammation but as long as there’s no infection, we are good. He also told me to stay away from tennis for a while. Very funny doc. I like him.

So, I spent my day resting my right hand at work and training my left hand to be as useful as the right. It didn’t seem to like that at all.

It’s weird how I end up suffering from weird illnesses/ailments as tennis elbow also medically known as epondylitis. Then again I am a weird human being so this should totally be normal!

K.C

About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

