Two Steps Forward, Fifty Steps Back – But His Got This

worry

It is only the third month into 2015 but it sure does feel longer. I’ve been hit with a whole bunch of curve balls in this short period, it’s hard to believe it has only been two months and two weeks- give or take.

This morning, driving to work, I was wondering just how I will get out of this whole mess. It has been weighing me down and it doesn’t help that every time I make some headway, another icicle comes crashing down on me and that progress I made, overtaken by this new hit. It is enough to drive one insane or to just give up. But this morning as I worried about it all, it dawned on me that my worrying would not help resolve anything.

It seemed random at the moment but Matthew 6:27 popped into my head:

“Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?”

My answer was definitely no. So I wondered why I insisted on worrying about the problem that could not be changed by my worrying. It is human nature to worry about problems, to stress about how we will get out of it. But the more you worry, the heavier your burden seems to be. And there seems to be no solution.

Heavy burden

Worrying only makes the burden heavier and if one is not careful, will break under all that weight

And it is in that moment that I realized that by myself I could resolve nothing. I could try but whether or not it would work is not granted. So I did the next best thing; I took it to the Lord.

Philippians 4:6-7 tells us:

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

This is not the easiest thing to do but it will surely give you peace of mind if you believe.

But here is the catch; God does not tell us to be lazy and sit back as He resolves our problems. At least, that is how I interpret this verse. Take it to the Lord in prayer, seek His guidance on a solution but you cannot just sit down and hope the solution will fall down like manna from heaven. You have to do something. Take some form of action believing that God is helping you and consulting Him all the way.

Let’s say you believe God for a job. You have to do your part; write that resume and post it out there. If you believe God for a job but do not put your resume out there, apply to any jobs or network with people, how will they know you exist? You have to do your part and let God do the rest.

I think this is where a lot of us miss it. Because He said we should not worry and that He will provide for us, we want to sit down and be lazy. But that’s not how it works. If you look at all the great men in the Bible, you will find that they were all hard workers. Nothing came to them just by sitting down. They worked for it. Even Proverbs reminds us to work hard (14:23):

“In all toil there is profit, but mere talk tends only to poverty.”

This is a reminder that hard work pays whereas talk with no actions results to nothing. There is no gain/reward for mere talk.

So even as you go through your day with a hundred and one problems running through your mind, wondering how you will be able to pay your bills, put food on the table, pay your rent, remember that the Lord is your strength and through Him, you can do all things. And I will leave you with this verse: Jeremiah 29:11

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

K.C

About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

