“You Gat This; Even With Wet Hands Lol”

“Nerves are killing me!! I have an interview in less than 30 mins. My hands won’t dry (insert gritting teeth emoji).”

“You got this exe :-D”

“Even with wet hands lol”

“Lmao

I hate interviews

They suck

I only ever formulate proper answers after I leave (insert gritting teeth emoji)”

“When is sucking a bad thing?”

“When your hands wont dry, that’s when.”

“Lol calm the fuck down

You gat this”

“Well then

I’m calm (insert blushing emoji).”

 friendship-quotes-images

It was that easy for me to calm down after all the anxiety that hit me up as I waited for my interviewer to come and get me. My imagination ran away with me and I imagined a tough lady coming out to get me, asking me hard-hitting questions I would not be able to answer, me leaving all messed up because all the answers would come flooding after the interview.

And the allotted time for the interview was an hour thirty minutes and I couldn’t imagine what it was that would constitute an hour and a half for a first in person interview. As I started sweating and psyching myself out, I responded to my friends text and randomly blurted that “nerves are killing me” and all.

 He had no idea I had an interview that morning when he first texted me. What really calmed me though was his ridiculous “calm the fuck down, you gat this.” It worked because I burst out laughing when I got it. I couldn’t help it.

It’s funny how I ended up here, in this waiting room waiting for my interview (I arrived an hour early). Four days before, I opened my email and saw a response to a job I had applied for just three days before. Usually, these emails read; “we appreciate your interest in our company and while your credentials are great…we have decided to go with someone else blah blah blah. You get the point. Anyway, when I saw this email, I figured it was the same thing and was giving it my usual glance over, prepared to delete, when I realized what I was reading was not a rejection email, rather one trying to set up an interview time. I came close to deleting it but thank God for the decision to do a once over.

So, I responded with my availability for a phone interview and it was scheduled for the following day. For some reason, these do not make me nervous at all. She called me up bright and early the following morning and we had a pretty good conversation about my work history and educational background. She ended with “I will give you a call if we decide to go ahead for an in person interview.”

I kind of figured that was the last I would be hearing from her. Before her last statement, she had asked what my minimum hourly rate was and when I responded, she repeated it to me three times. She had me feeling like I was asking for a plane and jet pack, which I really did not and I figured that was the deal breaker. So I smiled and said to myself, “oh well, I am sticking to my guns on my minimum for the next job”. And went back to job hunting.

About 4 PM that day, she called me and said she wanted me to meet with the hiring manager. I was not expecting this call at all. I figured I had been put on the black list. I was excited so I gave my availability for the interview which was in three days. This was moving pretty fast. And for the first time, I actually sat down to prepare for the interview, looking up questions to ask and the like. And preparing my answers, especially for why I was moving from my current position.

So I met with the hiring manager, sweaty hands and all. Can you believe my hands refused to dry that day? I spent pretty much all day trying to dry them when I could (which is when it wasn’t a big inconvenience to have wet hands).

I survived that interview. I came out on the other side in one piece-with wet hands and a calm demeanor. Thanks for the laugh (I had been contemplating making a run for it for a while-I do that a lot).

Friendship-quotes-yorkshire_rose-20974233-300-303

KayCee

About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in blog, health, hiperhidrosis, interviews, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

