Of Ear Infections and Long Flights…

travel-words

D Day is finally here!

So today I finally get on that Emirates plane on my way home to the motherland, a place I have not visited in four years. Now to many people, this isn’t a long time but to me it is way too long to be away from family and friends especially when you come from a huge close knit family.

I am both excited and dreading the trip. Excited because I get to see my people again, I get to eat my food again and overall just be home. I am dreading the trip because yesterday, I came down with an ear infection and my throat doesn’t feel too good.

The ear infection is the worst and to add flying on top of it is pretty much like adding salt to injury. So I am dreading it. The first leg of the flight is 13 hours long. My only consolation at this point is my ability to fall asleep on planes and I am counting on this to get me through it. I am also taking antibiotics which prevent me from drinking my head off if sleep eludes me. My usual loud blaring music in my headphones is a non starter too so good old fashioned reading might kick in at some point (provided I am unable to sleep and need something to take the edge off).

My stop over is in Dubai and I am excited about that because I get to spend a night there. I have never been to Dubai and this should give me a little idea of what the place is like and if I would like to make it my vacation spot one of these days (when my job decides to pay me more or I get a higher paying job-whichever one comes first).

Last qoute

Last part of my trip is roughly seven hours and thirty minutes. I have been back and forth between the USA and Zambia for a while now so I am kind of used to the length of the trip. It was more daunting the first time around. I am now a veteran of long distance traveling. Yay me!

I finally get to meet my nephew who was born a couple of months after I left Zambia in 2011. I only have pictures of him and speak over the phone. I’m so excited about meeting him. I get to spoil him rotten in person. My sister will hate me for it but he is my only nephew (from my siblings) so he gets all the love. For now.

Also, I get to see friends I haven’t seen in ages!! It will also be kind of weird to meet friends in person that I met online (kind of makes me nervous) which I shouldn’t be especially because I feel like I have known some of them for years (and also because I participate in online dating). And then there are friends who were once close to me but are now pretty much people I used to know. This should be awkward! Also, awkward is my middle name so this really should be par for the course.

im excited can you tell

Can you tell I’m excited? Yeah, me either.

KC

About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Of Ear Infections and Long Flights…

  1. Nice way of blogging – love grumpy cat…

  2. aigoo says:

    Dubai? I hope i get to sleep over too? But i am not of age. Anyways. Hope this trip will be exciting. Need tons of pics for the nxt blog experience n p.s. a Zambian tshirt.

Leave a Reply

