Alcohol Free For A Year; 2016 Challenge

THE STRUGGLE IS REAL Y’ALL!!

3852071

Image from google 

2016. The year I embarked on a no alcohol journey. Now, I know saying I gave up alcohol makes me sound like I’m an alcoholic, but really I’m not. Well, I think I’m not. I just decided that since I am not making any concrete 2016 resolutions, I might as well give up something. Not permanently of course. Just for a year.

This was also inspired by a guy who wrote about how he gave up alcohol for about 30-40 days and what his experience was like. except I took it a tad bit further by making it a year. I am clearly very ambitious with this.

Okay so the major reason I am actually giving up alcohol, or rather taking a break from it is because I was so dependent on it for a while last year. My choice of poison when I’m home is sweet wine, red or white, doesn’t really matter. But then I stumbled upon Lambrusco and I haven’t drunk anything else since (when I’m home that is).

I sort of used alcohol as a coping mechanism and at some point was downing a whole bottle of wine by myself on a daily basis. I didn’t think this was out of the norm of course-because hey, reasons to drink of course. But then when I had doctors appointments, I would basically just tell them I am a social drinker and have like three glasses of wine in about three months or so clearly flat out lying. When I realized this, I took a step back and cut back on the wine drinking. And now I sort of have it under control. I think.

Hence my decision to stay from it for a whole. Now, we have only been in 2016 for 15 days so far and this has already proven to be a challenge. I broke my one year alcohol free challenge minutes into the new year! So I decided to embark on this journey starting the 11th which was this past Monday.

So far, I have maintained four whole days alcohol free. Yay me! And then of course my friend decided we are doing dinner tonight and hitting up Thalia Hall (bars) in Pilsen-well one bar but you get the point*.

It definitely is going to be a long hard year all things considered. I am a social drinker. I don’t drink to get drunk, just up until I get that buzz and enjoy being social for the few hours I am buzzing. Soon as it wears off, I’m back to grouchy old me.

And I have sooo many social events already planned for the year. This will hopefully teach me some self discipline which I consistently lack especially when it comes to taking care of myself mentally, physically and emotionally. Wish me luck y’all! I need it!!!

P.S

I made it without any alcohol! And I wasn’t even mad. I had fun. But if this was any indication of what this journey will be like, it will definitely be a long year!!

K.C

sober image

Image from google

About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Alcohol Free For A Year; 2016 Challenge

  1. abbiegrrl says:

    I admire your self examination, and decision to make a change. Now all you have to do is figure out how to do Life without hurting anyone. lol
    (It can be done.)

    • KayCee says:

      Hahahahaha the no alcohol challenge seems so much easier by far as compared to figuring out how to do life without hurting anyone. But try I shall though I will not make any promises simply because of who I am as a person lol
      And thank you!!!
      KC

Leave a Reply

