Two Months later, About That Flight in words…

Disclaimer: Majority of this post was written during my flight but the way I am committed to procrastination is what prevented me from posting it then. This was written November 13th, 2015. Yes I know. I am working on it…

Soooo let me tell you about my flight. First things first. Do not work your regular full day schedule on the day of your flight especially if your job is an hour and thirty minutes with traffic from your house. It takes me about thirty minutes to get to my job when there’s no traffic but there are hardly ever any no traffic days during the week. You would think leaving your house at six am would guarantee you the shortest drive time but nope. So many of us are up and headed the same direction each morning. Anyway, I digress. I’m that one smart person that decided, “hey I will work on the day of the trip and just leave an hour early. That should give me ample time to make it home, shower and head on over to the airport and still have plenty of time to lounge in the airport.” Not even close.

My flight was at 7:40 pm and I got off work at 3:30 pm, a plan I was so sure was genius because there isn’t traffic at 3:30 right? Wrong! I lied to myself. There was as much traffic as there usually is when I get off work at 4:30 which of course bummed me out because then my plans wouldn’t work accordingly. I made it home at about 4:45 and decided there were a few last minute things I needed to grab from Walgreens and convinced myself I had all the time in the world.

So I walk into Walgreens and of course I can’t find the body wash section because this Walgreens is different from the others. After running around like a headless chicken, I get some help and have all my items ready and leave. I rush home and take the quickest shower ever (actually the shortest shower I have ever had is one my sister dabbed a passport photo-because a passport photo only has the bare essentials-I’m sure you get it).

Finally, I’m ready at 5:10 and we dash out. My brother is driving and he takes short cuts that wind up being long cuts. We finally get to O hare and lo and behold the lines to check in are ridiculous! Lucky for me I checked everything in online but I still had to stand in that long line. I had five bags for my trip (Africans don’t travel light-and this was the lightest I have ever traveled when going to Zambia). I had to weigh the bags so I had my friend stand in line for me (bad idea. She let people jump in line telling me -“you have enough time though and I’m like nope!).
All five bags were overweight and we had to shift stuff around and eventually that was resolved. By the time I was done with the check in process, it was 6:20 and boarding had commenced. I went to the security line and it was very long. I knew standing in line would mean me missing my flight entirely so I said my goodbyes and walked over to the front talking to the security guy about how I would be late and he asked me to grab an Emirates agent. He let me cut the line but I was still going to have wait for a while so I called my brother and asked him to get the agent as I stood in line so I wouldn’t lose my place. My brother and I were speaking a local language but I’m guessing the girl standing by me figured out I was talking about getting an agent because she asked me if I was flying to Dubai which is where she was headed as well. I affirmed that and we stood in line together and chatted as we waited for our rescue.
The agent came a little later and took us ahead of the line. Turns out a lot of us were boarding that particular flight because it was at least ten of us by the time we were rounding up with the TSA agents. By the way, the TSA lady checking our boarding passes and passports was such a bitch. She was like, “why were you late?” In a condescending tone. She had been mumbling about us being late and getting an agent to walk us through before we got to her and when we did she sure was super rude. And she took her time looking at our stuff as she chatted with her friend about our tardiness. I was so miffed. I would have had words with her if she wasn’t holding onto my passport and boarding pass and I wasn’t running late. And also because I am nice. I eventually went through the security line and of course was stalled because I was wearing a knee brace so they had to pat me down and all that randomness. Soon as I was done I hit the ground running and was able to get on the plane just in time. This is the first time I have been late and it was all my fault (technically I blame traffic for being so unpredictable but bleu).
Now that all that horror is over, let me tell you about how fancy Emirates is (also, last time I flew long distance was 2011 so this may have already been in place BUT lol). The entertainment system is awesome. They are fancy and have an array of new TV shows to choose from, movies etc. they also offer you warm towels in flight for your face or hands or wherever you may need to wipe. The food was awesome too. I usually hate plane food but this was more than decent. And breakfast was super good too.
Only thing that bummed me out during the flight was my knee which made it uncomfortable to sleep as I usually do. I also had a headache. My ears didn’t bother me as I anticipated (I had an ear infection the day before the trip). They behaved themselves. I’m guessing the medication kicked in and I am grateful for that. By they way, this is leg one of my journey. Typed this in the last hour of the ride. I will be chilling in Dubai for the next 12 hours or so. Updates on that experience will be up soon. We are preparing to land now so I will talk to you all later.
I did mention somewhere I am a horrible procrastinator right? Taken forever to publish this post yet it was written on the day of. I promise to do better yall.
K.C
About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in life and living, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

