Update On The Joys Of No Alcohol

 

HOORAY

Me celebrating the past alcohol free 21 days! Image from google 

On January 11th, I embarked on a “no alcohol 2016 journey” for various reasons, mostly outlined in my first post regarding this topic. I picked this date to start because it coincided with the fasting and prayer program that my church is participating in but also mainly because I did wind up drinking on January first, which was initially supposed to be my start date. Already broke the challenge by drinking on day one hehehe.

So far, the past twenty one days have been interesting. I like to think I’m not much of a social person but I do get out with friends on weekends. It has been a fun and agonizing test of how do I survive the night, outing without alcohol? I am still learning how to do that. I’m pretty good at zoning out and its usually easier to blame the blank stares on alcohol consumption rather than me just zoning out and going off into my own little gothic dark world.

I think I mentioned this in a post about the night I went out with friends to eat and then headed to a bar right after. It was one of those chill places with quiet music playing softly in the background. I ordered a virgin drink which I sipped on for the rest of the night. Most of these cocktails have so much sugar in them and since I was ordering them virgin, I could taste just how much sugar they contained which is A LOT!

Last night, last day of January, I went to a concert thingy with friends and we got there “early” and it was boring and hadn’t really started. People stuck around the bar and weren’t really trying to dance and all. I stood there like; “I brought myself to this place and I am on a no alcohol thing for the whole year. Why do I torture myself so?” I wound up buying a virgin daiquiri of sorts and it was so sweeeet! Seriously, I never knew how much sugar they put in these things. Alcohol really does a great job of masking the sweetness! I had that one drink and refused to get another because that’s way too much. I’m not a fan of sugar or really sweet drinks.

Also, I am proud of myself! I actually had fun after getting over the initial this place is boring and I need a drink phase. My crew and I decided to take the dance floor and just have fun as we waited for the entertainment of the night to show up. And when they did show up, I wasn’t at all impressed. Maybe it’s because I didn’t know their songs, or just that they didn’t sing too well and had no stage presence, I don’t know. I preferred the DJs music to the actual performance. So much for a concert.

Anyway, I had fun despite the little setbacks. I’m sure it would have been more fun if I was drunk out of my mind but hey, I had sober fun. It’s not bad at all. This whole don’t knock it till you try it will work out just fine. I can feel it in my bones. But first, handicapped social skills need to be worked on. Until then, later readers!

KC

About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

