You Know What Really Grinds My Gears!?

grinds my gears

Image from google 

Not many things grind my gears but if there is one thing that definitely does, it’s people who are chronically late. It pisses me off beyond reasonable proportions when people can’t stick to an agreed upon time. I was raised to always be early to wherever I was going. This allows for breathing room and if there’s anything you need to do to get yourself ready, you have enough time to do it.

Clearly not everyone went through that lesson and if they did, not everyone thought it was important enough to apply to their daily lives. If you tell me to meet with you at lets say, 8 AM, be assured that I will be there at or before 8 AM. If I am late, which is rare, it’s due to unforeseen circumstances, and mostly something beyond my immediate control. And because I respect people’s time, I will pick up my phone and inform you of what’s going on. I hate waiting for people especially when they don’t even have the decency to let you know what’s going on. That, in my book is the worst. You know u’re going to be late but you don’t say anything, just let the person wait because in your mind it’s okay. You’re probably thinking they are running late just like me. No! Not all of us operate on that so-called African time or colored people time. You all need to stop with this bullshit.

People I know come up with any number of reasons for why they are late. Mind you these are people who are ALWAYS late. I live far away. If you know you live far, better plan around the time it takes you to get to your destination and how long it takes you to get ready. That will let you know what time you need to wake up. It really isn’t rocket science. Your job is 50 miles from your house but you manage to get there on time, barely even, but you wanna come up with the I live too far? No! That’s not going to fly honey.

Sometimes I think people don’t just understand the concept of keeping time you know. It’s not something that’s valuable to them as it is to some of us. Granted if you told me in advance you wouldn’t be ale to make it at the agreed upon time I would just spend that extra hour watching Netflix, but this doesn’t mean you have the right to rob me of that simple pleasure. It’s my time and I should get to decide how I want to waste it instead of waiting for you in some place being irritated.

Some people say it’s because I have no patience and I agree. I don’t like waiting for people so I don’t make people wait for me. And if I consciously agreed to meet with someone or be somewhere at a certain time, I will respect and honor that agreement by being there on time. It’s that simple. I remember in high school my friend was always late to class because her dad always dropped her off late and my teacher always joked that she would be late to her own funeral because of her chronic lateness.

Anyways, I hope you all are better people and are not peeved at tardiness. I’m not a better person like the rest of you so I will be here being petty and mad when u’re late because of who I am as a person. I absolutely refuse to accept tardiness as a way of life. I just can’t. We can do better people. It really isn’t that hard. Take a lesson in time management. And apply it to real life. Thank you!

KC

About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

