Weird Vibes with the Gynecologist

gyno image

Am I the only one that feels violated when a gynecologist is checking your female parts? I don’t know what it is exactly, might be the cold instruments they use, or just their cold lubricated hands. It’s always the most awkward examination I have, that’s for sure. I usually just lie down focusing on the bright overhead light they almost always have in the ceiling directly over the bed trying to distract myself.

This is very unhelpful especially when the exam requires your attention as they need you to let them know if something they do hurts, what kind of pain it is, is it radiating, is it in one place, etc.

I was having an exam done today which of course I was totally unprepared for. In my pretty little mind, I thought I was only going for pelvic floor physical therapy, meaning I do physical stuff on the outside of my body. And she did. Then she said I need to do an internal examination too to rule out the internal parts being the source of the pain. Yikes. I usually prepare for things like a pap smear by shaving and all that good grooming. I didn’t think I needed to undress like that today and I haven’t exactly groomed yet, still giving the bush some time to re-establish itself before the big chop.

Anyway, she did the fingers in which was awkward and cold. In my mind I was straight up thinking; you all actually go to school so you can come and be all up in vaginas? all day? Must be a calling. Because I cannot consciously decide to do this for a living. Never. Not even in the afterlife. I couldn’t do medicine because the sight of blood grossed me out and I feel light headed when getting a blood draw.

Also, I always find questions regarding sexual orientation/activity embarrassing and somewhat judgmental, which I know is only in my head. I always feel the need to lie. I hate that I live in a world where sex has been shrouded with such taboo, you can barely talk freely about it with your gynecologist, someone who frankly doesn’t give a crap about who you slept with or how many people you slept with, what kind of sex you enjoy and whatever. She just needs the info so she can help you you know. I can’t wait for when sex will be normalized, not perverted and it can be discussed without feelings of embarrassment or defensiveness. I might be 100 by then but hey, at least it would have happened right?

So, does anyone else get that weird vibe with gynecologists? Ever lie there and just wonder if you might wind up getting turned on? Or if others before you have been turned on during an examination?

HardtobeHealthy

Me every time. Image from google

KC

About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in life and living, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

