Her Virgo Beau, His Virgo Cinderella

When he smiles, his eyes light up and little crinkles form at the edges. Because they are small, his eyes almost close when he smiles, his cheekbones high, and his lips are slightly thin.

His laugh is full of joy, an intoxicating sound I could spend all day listening to it.

He walks like he has not a care in the world, relaxed, but with purpose, unhurried exuding confidence, unaware of his effect.

He looks my way and I melt, glowing deep inside just at the sight of him. A hundred questions fill my mind as I try to smile and wind up blushing. Yes, even black people blush.

I feel the heat creep up on my neck and onto my face. Thank goodness for my dark skin otherwise I would be bright red for the world to see!

Does he see me? Can he tell I am crushing on him like a high school girl meeting her favorite boy band?

I look away pretending not to see him despite the fleeting eye contact but hoping he will walk over anyway. I look at him again and our eyes meet and hold this time. My awkward self doesn’t know what to do so I stare awkwardly and perhaps smile or frown it’s hard to tell which one.

We play the lock eyes and smile/frown in my case game for a few weeks, never saying a word, a game we share between the two of us which is kind of exciting (I’m sure you can tell how exciting my life gets right).

I should have mentioned that all these exchanges have been taking place at church between and after service. Opportunity comes banging and we are face to face, not expecting it but not unhappy about it either.

This time I feel a full on KC grin come on and I can’t control it. I extend my hand just as he extends his and I see that gorgeous smile of his. I really could drown in that smile.

“I’m Mike,” he says. Of course I forget to introduce myself until prompted because we all can’t be perfect and have nice things now can we?

And then I walk away right after. Just straight up walked away. No bye, see you later, nothing. I can’t be trusted to be socially normal. I don’t do social right. Even when I want something. I kicked myself for this later.

Next Sunday, he seeks me out and we chat for a while. As fate will have it, my pastor is having a birthday bash, the big 50 and we make plans to hang out at the event later that night.

Mike comes in a bit later and finds us already seated and joins our table. How we wind up side by side I do not know but I am not complaining. We spend the night ignoring everyone else at our table, absorbed in each other’s conversation.

I am floating on cloud nine and hoping the night will go on forever. It is after all summer and they tend to drag on. We somehow wind up at birthdays and we were born on the same day!

I swear Cupid must have had a hand in this one. It’s a sign. We must be soul mates. How can we not be? He made me laugh all night, and he is tall, and has the cutest smile ever and is just perfect. Also, we were born on the same day. This must count for something right?

Sadly, all good things must come to an end and this night was no exception. My friends were tired of me ignoring them and ready to home. I really didn’t mean to ignore them, it just happened. Or they were just ready to go home.

Mike and I exchanged numbers before I walked out and I simply told him “I will be right back.”

Of course I wasn’t going to be back but I didn’t care to explain that then. It was picture time with the girls and then Mike texted wondering where I was at to which I replied “I’m outside taking pictures.”

Mike being Mike responded with “Cinderella is taking pictures without me?” The smile on face said it all. I responded “My prince, come and take pictures now before midnight strikes and I disappear.”

Mike, “Hold on Cinderella, I am coming. Thou shan’t disappear without your prince. I am here to save you this time.”

This is what happens when you are both dorks. And sure enough, he showed up, all six feet of him, all hot and unbothered. I couldn’t help but take in his beauty, the goatee with the flecks of grey and wondered how and why he was attracted to me.

I questioned it no more and took pictures which of course were perfect. He hugged me goodnight and whispered “goodnight Cinderella. Thank goodness for technology. I have your number and not your shoe. And y/our pictures!”

I giggled and responded “goodnight prince charming and take care of that ‘shoe’.”

KC

About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Her Virgo Beau, His Virgo Cinderella

  1. tendu says:

    Good read, yet to see if one of the directors doesn’t steal this to make a version of the 21st century cinderella story

  2. Amanya says:

    Quite the cinderella story. Oh my. Nicely penned.

Leave a Reply

