To The Guy I Met At The Mechanics… 

Hey tall, dark and handsome,
I hope you are well. We met at the mechanics about a week ago and we had a moment. An “I find you attractive moment and maybe…” That’s the best description I have for it. I told my friend about it and she thinks I shut it down. Because of my awkwardness and lack of social skills. See, when you walked in the room, you were nice. I was seated, face buried in the book I was reading. You greeted me and I looked up and my heart stopped (just kidding). I was like nice! In my mind of course. And I greeted you back and went back to the book because I have no behavior 😁. Of course I kept checking you out, out of the corner of my eye as I pretended to read (I forgot to turn the page to make it look like I was still reading-I have zero chill, I know).

Then you complimented my shoes and I of course, screeched thank you and fiddled with my feet. Because that’s how I act when complimented. I don’t know how to take a compliment. I feel overwhelmed by it or something. So back to the book it was. You completed your transaction with the mechanic and bid me good day and I you and that’s how you left and I kicked myself. Not that it did any good since you left already.
So, in case we were on the same page (I’m really hoping the moment wasn’t in my head), it’s not that I was shutting you down, I just don’t know how to act in real life.

 I’m great behind a screen. In fact I’m awesome behind a screen! But when faced with real life, I cower into this shell that renders me awkward, shy and plain old anti social. Which I’m not. Well, I am. Sometimes. Should I be saying this? Probably not. But anyway, the point of this is to say, there was a moment that I unconsciously shut down. And this wasn’t my intention. Not at all. Maybe our paths will cross again one day. Maybe not. The point is I am always told I shut down guys but honestly, half the time I don’t even realize someone is hitting on me. I am clueless like that. I have been accused several times over the years but I seem to not pick up this skill of deciphering when you’re being subtly hit on. I’m one of those you need to hit the nail on the head with. And hard. Otherwise, I am as clueless as they come.

P.S

I wrote this some time last year but my procrastination game was too strong so I am only just posting it now as I work on my draft folder. Side note, my former mechanic (I left him in the U.S) seemed to attract attractive clientele. I met someone I had a fling with there too lol. He did not do subtle, just came right out and told me he foudn me attractive and wanted to “talk”. Let’s just say I met some ‘interesting’ people at my mechanics. And I was there a lot, they always teased me about working there. I hope my new mechanic has this voodoo that attracts attractive people there so I am not so bored LOL.

KC

About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to To The Guy I Met At The Mechanics… 

  1. Tendu says:

    Elija lol

  2. oluchee says:

    Socially awkward somebody here too🙋

  3. D'Dream says:

    hehehe, you and oluchi are a special breed of sombodiness.

    i hope you have discarded your procrastination pills now sha. i hope to meet you amazing social shy bloggers very soon.

  4. Nedoux says:

    I laughed so hard @ “I forgot to turn the page to make it look like I was still reading”.

    Ah, crushes and the butterfly-in-tummy feeling. Physical attraction is quite interesting, until you see the other person picking their nose furiously. It pretty much goes downhill from there. 😀

    • KayCee says:

      Hahahaha so true! It’s the little disgusting things that remind you how human that soooo very attractive person is and you finally chill

  5. womania2014 says:

    Well am glad am not the only with the awkward social skills lol we need to have group meetings like Alcoholics Anonymous😂😂😂

Leave a Reply

