Queen of Procrastination or of Sheer Laziness

If you ask me why I procrastinate so much with pretty much everything in my life, I honestly wouldn’t have an answer for you. It seems that’s just the way it is (not a great answer I know but it is what it is).

 

notable-and-famous-procrastination-quotes

Image via google

 

But when it comes to why I procrastinate on uploading posts on here, I honestly feel it’s both laziness and the need to find some form of perfection in what I do. This will be my downfall if I don’t continue working on it.

This post was written in 2014 I think. I even lost track of time. I finally decided to post it today because it cracks me up how my friend and I never seem to change in some aspects of our lives. Hopefully we will do better. We just have to. At some point.

Anyway, dive in. It is totally out of context but hey, I am already judging myself for it, I don’t your judgment as well (just kidding).

A few years ago, I stopped making New Year’s resolutions because I forgot them the day after making them. Six months into the new year and my friend would ask; “but I thought your new year’s resolution was to stop blah blah blah?” and I would just shrug and say meh.”

They were discarded every single time. So my new resolution then became “I will not make any new year’s resolutions and I never did. It has been at least three years now and it seems to have worked pretty well for me.

But then this time around I decided I want to make some resolutions because I need to make a turnaround in my life. And looking back at 2014, there are so many things that happened that could have been avoided.

But I am glad I went through them because I have learned from these experiences. 2014 has been a great year despite some of the heart ache, pain and loss. For every loss, there was a gain that I did not appreciate at that particular time. It is only now as I reflect that I realize this.

I was quick to feel the pain and wrap it around me like a warm comforting blanket and just wallow in the pain than acknowledge the gain from it. It is true, “for every action, there is an equal but opposite reaction.”

Anyway, before the New Year rolled around, I had a funny, honest conversation with my friend who lives on the other side of the world. Our conversation went something like this (I initiated);

“What resolutions are we making that will be forgotten a day after making them?”

Her response killed me; “Remain spring chicken by getting abs. Next?”

“No boys. I will eat healthy, no more junk food.”

Her response; “Let’s try to keep them realistic *Insert laughing emoji here*.”

“That’s as realistic as it gets,” I respond with laughing emojis.

Drink less alcohol.

“Yes, that too. More church and grow spiritually.”

Focus on growing our careers.

“And learn investment skills so we are not always broke and start saving.”

Buy less clothes and more sensible stuff like house stuff.

“Find a new hobby and learn a new thing.”

Get rid of old baggage for good.

“Find a mentor and be a mentee.”

And then it went off course as it was bound to;

Her: I can’t think of more things I know I should do but won’t do *insert laughing emoji*

Me: laughing-I’m like done too. Was racking my brain. Oh just remembered one. Blog consistently. I’m finally working on my blog.

Her: “Oh yes, that we can do. In fact we can even blog our resolutions. Great resolution, I like.”

I was actually writing this down to blog about which is how I remembered it as a resolution. Lol

“I have a draft blog as to lessons I learnt in 2014. Will post it when I have Wi-Fi (Struggles of living in a third world country).”

I have so many drafts along those lines too. Maybe I will consolidate them into one piece. And of course move it from my drafts folder and publish it *Laughs* I see progress already lol

Hahaha. How was your Christmas dinner?

And that is how we transitioned from resolutions to other fun things that will not be shared here. You can check out my friends blog on here;  She has a great blog. Happy reading!

K.C

About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

