Believe In You When No One Else Will

believe_in_yourself.jpg

Image via google

Sometimes, it’s the people closest to you that don’t believe in you. They doubt your abilities and your dreams. In their eyes, you can do nothing right. Everything you do seems to them a waste of time. As you do C, they firmly believe you should be doing A. Being in such an environment can seriously weigh you down and alter your path.

You start to feed into what they’re saying especially when things are not working out exactly as you had hoped. You start to believe them. You examine your plan and start seeing flaws that did not exist. You start questioning yourself. What if becomes your companion.

If you are not careful, you abandon your plans and do what they say you should have done in the first place. You discover you are not happy and are worse off than when you were doing C. and the very people that criticized you and told you to do A are back at it, telling you you’re a failure. This is why it is important to know what you stand for otherwise you will fall for anything.

Being in such an environment be it family or friends is toxic especially when you are not a strong willed person or rely on others heavily to guide you. You wind up wasting precious time that can never be recovered and lose focus of what you wanted.

I am not saying you should not listen to advice, all I am saying is sometimes people do not understand what you are trying to achieve, they do not have the same vision as you, or your go getter attitude and thus advise you wrongly. Just because someone doesn’t understand your dream doesn’t mean it will not come to fruition. It can and it will.

Consult other like minded people, do your research and you will be fine. As much as you need those closest to you to believe in you, to believe in your dreams, they won’t always and that’s ok.

It doesn’t mean you shouldn’t pursue it. It just means you will but without them cheering you on, without them to lean on. You find a different support system, one that encourages you. And sometimes, that support system is you. And if you want it, and work hard towards it, you will achieve it.

Keep an open mind, look for those that have done it before you and glean whatever knowledge you can from them. The saying stands true, “there is nothing new under the sun,” there’s just a different way of doing the same things.

As long as you are hard working, open minded and disciplined, you will achieve your goals and dreams. After all, success is the best revenge. You’re not doing it to serve revenge but you’re doing it for you. And that lack of belief in you just maybe the fuel you need to set out on the path to greatness.

K.C

 

 

About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Believe In You When No One Else Will

  1. vhuvu says:

    The truth in this. I swear people need to know this. I know of some who move with the crowd. She said this and she does what her friend or family said. It’s so complicated

    • KayCee says:

      It’s wild at best. I seem to be among the lucky so called stubborn hard headed beings who decide what I want to do and go with it despite everyone thinking I should do something else and telling me I will fail in my chosen path. People need to stop trying to live through others but we are a long way from there.
      Thanks Vhuvu 🙂

  2. oluchee says:

    But when others don’t tap into your faith in your dream, its not totally mean, you know. Generally people get overly optimistic about ideas. And when you relate it to a realist, its hard not to shoot it down when they think they’re being helpful. They are not necessarily dream killers.

    • KayCee says:

      No they’re not. It’s always good to have an objective person give you pros and cons from their own assessment and do your own research as well.
      Thanks Oluchee 🙂

  3. D'Dream says:

    gbam! gbammer! gbammest!!! jesu omo olorun iyam lofin this, chai!!

    I can personally relate to your blog, even Christ said your antagonist will be of your household. i envy homes where they support each other like kilode. Even presently no one in my family knows i blog, they wont care either so why bother.
    one truth i have learnt is that i am responsible for the outcome of my life. that puts me in the drive seat of personal decision and responsibility. If i fail or succeed, i am responsible

    • KayCee says:

      I’m glad someone relates to my blog. My family don’t know I have a blog either and I won’t tell them about it because they will try to control what I post on it. Not only that, they will criticize it to no end. So it’s easy to simply be silent about its existence.
      Every time I want to try something there’s always someone close to me shooting it down. And then they turn around and say I fail at everything and whatnot. It’s exhausting and draining. So for now I choose to carve my own path. I’m adult enough to do that now which is awesome.

Leave a Reply

