“It’s not corruption if it’s the norm”

Two police women stepped out onto the road, wearing blue knee length skirts, white shirt, black and white hat and white gloves on both hands. They both raised their hands, flagging me down. I pulled over to the side and turned off the engine, waiting.

I knew what they flagged me down for but I was sure I wasn’t driving past the speed limit. Last I had checked I was doing 65 Km/Hr.

After deliberating with my friend, I got out of the car. On one side sat the other police officers, these in beige uniforms. They had set up a stool on either side of them. I walked over to one and he asked me to sit which I did.

“How are you?”

I am fine thank you sir, how are you?

“Good good. You were speeding.”

Sir, I wasn’t speeding. I was driving at 65.

“Not according to our speed reader.”

What did it record?

“Go and ask those ladies that flagged you down.”

I walked over to the ladies knowing they wouldn’t give me anything. The guy that had been driving to my left was faster than I was but he hadn’t been pulled over. So I knew this was futile but I went and inquired anyway.

“You were driving at 77 Km/Hr,” one of the ladies informed me.

Actually I wasn’t. It was 65. I checked. Can you show me where you caught me at 77?

“No I can’t. I just got someone else so yours is gone”. She seemed upset I had the audacity to question her.

Of course I thought to myself. How convenient. I walked back to the gentleman and sat down on the stool. His eyes focused on my left wrist which he turned to read the tat and asked whose name I had inked on myself laughing. He seemed nice.

“Where are you going?”

I’m going to the hospital. My sister is in labor so I’m taking her (This wasn’t a complete lie. Thing is we had already been to the hospital a few hours back but they didn’t need to know that. Or did they? We were currently heading home).

“Where is she?”

In the car. Front passenger’s seat.

“Ok. Well, your fine is K300.”

Sir, I don’t have that money. Only money I have is to spend at the hospital.

“Hmmmm ok what do you have. Bring what you can.”

I walked to the car and brought back K100 and handed it to him.

“You can go madam. And all the best to your sister. Wishing her a safe delivery.”

Thank you sir.

I walked away shaking my head. And just like that I got out of paying K300 which I shouldn’t have been stopped for in the first place.

Only thing is you can’t argue with them despite them not having proof of you doing anything wrong. It’s easier to give them what you have and walk away.

What happens with that money is anyone’s guess. This is a common occurrence as I have been told. Simply offer what you have and your so-called problem goes away.

If you can’t beat them, join them. (SMH)

KC

About KayCee

The About Me section is always the hardest part for me to do. I never seem to know how to fill it in but I will try. Here goes; I am a fun loving person who also happens to be somewhat anti-social. This is not deliberate, I just lack social skills. Anyway, I love to write about pretty much anything but I have dedicated this page to talking about my life with hyperhidrosis and how it affects the most mundane tasks. I love laughing. It can be annoying because people think I don't take them seriously when I laugh but I do. Laughter works as defense mechanism when I feel cornered or just cannot give an answer right away. Or when I really feel the need to laugh :) I am usually quiet til I know you. A bit of a cynic but I always try to see the good in people. I still believe in humanity at the same time wondering if we will make it. I am a walking contradiction apparently. And that is it about me. Happy reading! :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “It’s not corruption if it’s the norm”

  1. Nedoux says:

    Hello KayCee,

    Lol… So this happens at your end too? 😀

    I feel like corruption is somewhat indulged by most people, there’s no shock factor anymore because people seem to expect it and it barely surprises them anymore.

    Sadly, it is the rotting piece at the foundation of a flawed society.

  2. KayCee says:

    Sadly it does happen and more often than I thought possible. First time someone told me to do it, I failed but quickly learned because they try to get you even when you haven’t done anything wrong. And of course it’s their word against yours and guess who wins? Them. so you wind up joining the trend instead of making your life difficult. Sad state of affairs really.

Leave a Reply

